Sixth Army Group  

Go Back   Sixth Army Group > Real History > Kampfgruppe Edelweiss

Kampfgruppe Edelweiss Discussion of Historical Information Related to German Ground Forces in WWII. Hosted by Gebirgsjäger Historian and Collector Patrick Kiser (Heeresbergführer)

Old 11-09-2005, 03:57 PM   #1
Heeresbergführer
Company Commander

Send a message via MSN to Heeresbergführer Send a message via Yahoo to Heeresbergführer
1/6th scale vs. 1/1 scale Gebirgsjäger Equipment

Well, I'm just getting started with kitbashing 1/6th Gebirgsjägers, 12 at the moment, but I do have the advantage of owning a good collection of original 1/1 scale Gebirgsjäger uniforms and equipment (see my website) and can make a fairly good judgement on the accuracy of the 1/6th scale uniforms and equipment.

I think I have all the Gebirgsjäger uniforms and equipment from Dragon with the exception of the Handschar figure and the radio operator. I don't have any of the DID stuff yet, but I have looked at photos of their gear.

Let's start at the top and work our way down.

1. Bergmütze (Mountain Cap)...I have caps from Gunther, Kater, Alfons, and Hermann. Some caps fit some heads better than others. I think I like Alfons' cap the best, though I find all the hats a bit too floppy. I have a Cotswold cap which I think has the best shape...but you need to add the T-form Adler-Cockade to the front and replace the Edelweiß with one from Dragon. It would be nice to have the white camo cover for the Bergmütze...the one that came with Alfons is for the helmet.

2. Goggles...Alfons' goggles are pretty close to the real things...best that I know of.